Healthy Hydration

Yiannis Christodoulou

PARTNERS / Ambassadors / Yiannis Christodoulou

17th February 2021

iPRO Ambassador - Yiannis Christodoulou


Yiannis Christodoulou



Where were you born?

I was born in Canterbury, my parents are Cypriot. My dads parents came over in the 30s to set up a business. I have lived in the area all my life. I love Canterbury because it's a historical little city but there's so much to do, plus I grew up here and have so many friends.

What is your fitness history?

I am no spring chicken and I am 37; I only started running in 2012. I was inspired by the London 2012 Olympics to do something, which ended up me joining my local running club, Canterbury Harriers which I am now the head coach. I had no sporting background prior this and I couldn't swim. I didn’t train that regularly until the following year so progress wasn’t quick. I knew if I practiced I could be a lot better and ended up doing that. I knew I was never going to be the fastest in my area, club or be elite. In 2013, I competed in local triathlons but ended up injuring my calf where I struggled for 7 months on and off so I became a coach for my club. The following year I was competing again in triathlons but injured my Achilles and thought I wouldn’t be able to run again. I managed to overcome this and came back slowly which saw me PB in every running race I took part in for a year; I think there were 15 PB’s and a course record, which I am very proud of. In 2015 I was in the process of getting married but didn’t have the time to train for the triathlons so I decided to go into aquathlons, as I was quite a strong swimmer and runner. In 2016 I represented GB in my age group at the World and European Championships where I achieved a Bronze medal at the Europeans on my debut. I have gone on to captain the Aquathlon team, as well has become a European champion and a 2x National Champion. I moved to Triathlon in 2019 where I qualified for the European Sprint Triathlon Age Group team on my first attempt and my focus is very much on this next year.

What are your fitness and competition plans for 2021?

My goal is a tough one to make the podium at the European Sprint Triathlon Championships on my debut. I know if I work hard at it, hard work will pay off and the impossible will become the possible.

What is your favourite workout?

I always like the slow easy long runs, they are very important in your training, run slow to get fast!

Favourite iPRO Hydrate flavour?

The Citrus blend flavour but I like them all to be honest.

How does iPRO Hydrate help you during training and recovery?

During my long sessions I drink them to help me sustain pace and after a hard session I raid the cupboard for one as they help you recover quicker and I am always able to do another hard session later in the day as a result on my hard training days.

What is your favourite cheat meal?

Pizza always enjoy a meat feast pizza.

What is your party trick?

I can do a magic trick where I pretend to read someone's mind!

Favourite song to workout to?

Rocky Theme tune always get me pumped up.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Drinking fizzy drinks as a treat.

Favourite place to go on holiday?

Penticton I competed there at the 2017 World Aquathlon Championships and loved the place, the most amazing place I have been too.

What is your most proud sporting achievement?

3rd in the European Championships (Age Group) has to be my best accomplishment on my debut. I never expected it and I had to run very hard. I had to sprint the last 400m to go past two people. I found something that day I never had before. It was an amazing experience and I will never forget it. I would tell people to keep pushing until they finish. However 2019 becoming the European Aquathlon Champion (Age Group) was a big shocked and is up there too because of where I came from in 2012 and never expected to win.

What does a typical training day look like for you and how does this vary through your racing season?

I do two activities a day. 6 days a week and have one rest day a week which means rest. My day for example is a long run and bike ride on the same day after work. I work full time and fit my training around that. Easy days are easy and hard days are hard. Race season is different has I am tapering a lot for races, so its not as regular as base training is more volume.

Which bits of training do you like and which are you less keen on?

I enjoy all the training bike, swim, gym and run. I think because its a mix and not the same activity all the time. But if there was a least favourite it would be the bike.

What gets you going when you just don't feel like it?

It’s easy, to look back on what I have achieved in such a small time which motivates me to keep improving and try to better myself. Just getting out there for even just 10 minutes helps and once I am out I stay out longer. Having goals and knowing I need to put the work in motivates me.

iPRO Social